top of page
Search

Took a trip to Grand Rapids...


So I have this running friend, Ashley.

We met around 2018 when I needed runners for my Keys 100 relay team (one of my favorite races, I am sure there will be more on that later). We've done the Keys three times now, but decided to mix it up this year by doing the Amway River Bank Run 25k in Ashley's hometown of Grand Rapids, MI. Even though that's the longest race I have ever done, it's Michigan, so I figured it'd be a nice change from the oppressive heat of Florida, right?

To be fair, it wasn't AS hot as Florida, probably low 80s - and way less humidity - but it was hot. Thankfully, a LOT of the course was shaded. Like, more shade than I ever remember having at a race, but they had 15.5 miles to fit it into. That isn't sweat in the picture though, that was the water I poured on myself at every water stop.

Two things about this race made it a keeper. First, I got to see when the elite men came out for the start. When you see them, you know who you are dealing with. They all fit the extremely thin, fit stereotype, and like I said, they all came out together. What threw me off is some of them looked kind of confused. Buddy, I know this ain't your first rodeo...er, race. Second, the spectators were amazing. The run winds through downtown, some neighborhoods, and there were so many people out supporting us. It really made a difference! You would run in a more rural setting for a couple of miles, then just about the time you were ready for something different, there they were.

Definitely would do this race again. And no, those aren't my toes wearing through my shoes, lol.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page